200 Alabama Bicentennial

Celebrating Alabama’s 200th birthday2017 2018 2019

Created to guide and support the commemoration of the anniversary of Alabama’s statehood, the twelve-member Alabama Bicentennial Commission is chaired by Senator Arthur Orr of Decatur. Beginning in 2013, the commission established committees to plan and coordinate events and activities centered on education, statewide initiatives, and local activities.

These committees draw their membership from local government, small businesses and national corporations, volunteer organizations, schools and colleges, and everyday citizens who want to contribute.

  • Arthur Orr (Chair)
    State of Alabama
  • Lee Sentell (Vice-Chair)
    Alabama Department of Tourism
  • Mike Ball 
    State of Alabama
  • Joel Anderson
    Anderson Media
  • Cartledge Blackwell
    Architectural Historian
    City of Mobile
  • Hilary Claybourne
    CCINC Innovative Strategies
  • Patricia Ford
    State Black Archives Research Center & Museum
  • Priscilla Hancock Cooper
    Vice President of Institutional Programs
    Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
  • Steve Murray
    Alabama Department of Archives & History
  • Tami Reist
    Alabama Mountain Lakes Tourist Association
  • Fitzgerald Washington
    Secretary of Labor
    Alabama Department of Labor
  • Bart Williams
    Executive Director
    EarlyWorks Family of Museums
  • Jay Lamar
    Executive Director
    ALABAMA 200